Oil Control or No?

So I had this whole post written, tried to add a link to a product and lost the whole thing.  Arrrgh!

So on to  the review. I recently watched a YouTube video where the girl mentioned a Cetaphil cleanser for oily skin.  I can’t for the life of me remember what it was called or who made it.  Only that she was from Canada.  (I don’t know how I remember these little facts and not the important things!)

Cetaphil

I was excited and thrilled by the idea that there was something on the market for me.  I tried the original Cetaphil when I was a teenage with acne and VERY sensitive skin due to acne treatments and didn’t really like it.  It felt like it didn’t get my skin clean enough.  So I couldn’t wait to get my oily hands on this new cleanser.  It is the Cetaphil DERMACONTROL- Oil Control Facewash (found here).  And I have to say I like it, so far.  The price point wasn’t bad.  I have paid a lot more for clensers that are now taking up space under my sink.  I was able to find it at my local CVS.

The website says “Gentle, calming cleanser for acne-prone skin. Cetaphil® DERMACONTROL Oil Control Foam Wash is clinically proven to effectively remove excess oil, impurities and make-up that can clog pores and lead to breakouts.”  I like the fact that it is a foam.  For some reason foams actually make me feel cleaner.  The foam in the Cetaphil was is literally a pump foam.  Like the Bath and Body Works foaming antibacterial hand soaps.  It has a decent scent to it.  It reminds me of the other Cetaphil products.  Not my favorite facewash smell but it doesn’t linger so it doesn’t bother me.  I feel like it gets rid of the oil and preps my skin for moisturizer and make-up to follow.  I use 2-3 pumps in the shower each morning.  I have noticed that I have less breakouts.  I have also noticed that when “that time of the month” rolled around I didn’t have ANY major breakouts.  Major bonus!  I will be sticking with this cleaner for a while.  I wish they would make a scrub to use occasionally.

The full-sized bottle came with a sample of the Cetaphil DERMACONTROL- Oil Control Moisturizer SPF 30.  I used the sample in about a week.  I lie.  I went out and bought a full-sized bottle even before I opened the sample.  But I did use the whole sample before I used the full-sized one.  Promise!  It can be found here.

Here is what the website says “Lightweight moisturizer with SPF for acne-prone skin. Hydrate, protect and control shine with this 3-in-1 moisturizer. Cetaphil® DERMACONTROL Oil Control Moisturizer SPF 30 is specifically formulated for acne-prone skin. Fortified with advanced zinc, ceramide and oleosome technologies, this moisturizer with SPF is clinically proven to manage oily skin. It provides broad spectrum sun protection and controls shine – without over-drying skin.”

I was stoked that I could have possibly found an oil controlling moisturizer with SPF 30.  The moisturizer didn’t live up to my hopes.  I noticed that it stings a little when I fist put it on (like sunblock) after I wash my face.  I also noticed that there are these little pebbles (?) that don’t break up, no matter how much I rub my fingers and palms together before I put it on my face.  I have also noticed that if I don’t wear a primer over it, it makes my face look really oily at the end of the day.  I have also noticed that without a primer over it, it makes my make up float on top of my skin.

I did over the weekend mix one pump (as opposed to the two I normally use) moisturizer with a small amount of my regular foundation and was able to create a nice light coverage tinted moisturizer.  I also noticed that when I did this I didn’t look too oily at the end of the day.  Perhaps I have stumbled upon a new/quicker make-up routine?

Anyone else try new products this week?  Tell me about your favorite facewash or moisturizer.  I love trying new stuff!

***All products were purchased by me with my own money.  This is NOT a sponsored post.  Just my honest review of products I have tried.***

Leave a Reply

