Lemon Meringue (Dip) Monday

On Mondays (when I’m not working) I get together with a wonderful group of friends.  We take turns making snacks for the group and there is always talking and growth.  I love Mondays (when I’m not working)!

Some of the lovely ladies

Some of the lovely ladies

So today was my day to make snack.  I got a special request from one of my friends, Anna, to make Lemon Meringue Dip for the group.  Here is my attempt to show you what I did.

I found this recipe on Pinterest.

Ingredients:

Ingredients

Ingredients

  • 1-2 store-bought or homemade pie crust (I bought 2 boxes of pie crusts.  My ladies like to dip!)
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 1/2 c. lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp. corn syrup
  • a pinch of cream of tartar

The How To’s:

1.  Whisk together 3 egg yolks and lemon juice over medium-low heat. Stir constantly until think and custard like.  I used the double boiler method.

Double Broiler Method

Double Broiler Method

2.  Pour into a ziplock bag, releasing all the air when you zip it, and put the bag into a small ice water bath.3.  Next, toss the egg whites, corn syrup, and cream of tartar into a  medium bowl and whisk on high until stiff peaks form.

4.  Once the egg yolk mixture has cooled, snip a corner of the bag and pour into a medium bowl (I poured it right in to my serving bowl, no sense in dirtying up another dish). Whisk in the can of sweetened condensed milk.

Custard Mix

Custard Mix

5.  Once the meringue is ready, heap and spread on top of the lemon filling

Meringue Mix

Meringue Mix

6.  Put the bowl on a cookie sheet and into the oven. Broil for 1-2 minutes until meringue is toasted. Refrigerate to cool.

Toasted Meringue

Toasted Meringue

7.  Cut out strips (shapes would be fun) from the pie crust. Bake according to directions on package, but about half the recommended time.

Pie crust shapes

Pie crust shapes

Toasted Shapes

8.  ENJOY!

Yumm!

Yumm!

Anna and I