Wet Cotton Balls

I’m sorry.  I hate starting posts like that but I don’t know what else to say.  I have been sick.  Like really sick.  Like puke your brains out sick.

I generally have a very strong immune system.  I chalk it up to working in health care and being exposed to germs on a daily basis.  That being said there are different germs everywhere.  Every time I start a new job I get a wicked cold, but after that I am good for as long as I work there.  It happened when I was volunteering in Virginia.  It happened when I started working in the ER, moved to Delaware, California, Pennsylvania, etc.  I think it is just my immune system getting used to the different bugs.  I believe in letting your immune system work.  I think it is important to have it exposed every once in a while to new germs.  I think it makes me stronger.  That being said, I believe in the flu shot too.  I think it is important to protect ourselves if it is available.  I don’t believe in getting sick just to get sick.  Plus, if I can protect my daughter from getting sick, I am going to do it.  Nothing is worse than seeing your little one suffer. 

Last week I was in training for work.  I started to feel sick on Thursday while I was eating breakfast, but I chalked it up to funky granola.  I didn’t eat much Thursday or Friday. 

Saturday I started with the vomiting but was able to make it in to work.  I only had to do 8 hours so I thought I could power through it.  I had chills and couldn’t warm up.  At one point I was so cold I had 5 blankets on me and my feet were still freezing.  I had body aches and a headache and general fatigue.  Matt had the nerve at one point to ask if I thought it was all in my head.  Serves him right he came down with it on Saturday night but was feeling better by Sunday night.  Jerk. 

Sunday I just couldn’t manage.  I had to call in.  I had to use some of my precious sick time when I was actually sick.  It was coming out of both ends and I couldn’t imagine functioning at work like that.  Not to mention I’m pretty sure my co-workers would not want to be around me. 

I spent 6 hours on Monday in the hospital getting fluids and anti-nausea medication.  I vomited 3 times while I was waiting in the waiting room.  It took them 3 hours to get me back to be seen and I’m sure it’s going to cost an arm and a leg.  I think you should get a discount for every hour you are waiting to be seen.  Take $100 off for every hour you are waiting. 

Tuesday I was feeling better and then blam-o.  Hello head cold.  I laid down to take a nap with J and woke up at one point with my tongue so dry it literally felt like a leather patch in my mouth.  YUCK!  Last night I was having hot flashes, which never happens.  I was so hot at one point I had all the blankets off me.  Then I woke up at another point and was chilled.  It was amazing to snuggle up under the blankets only to wake up sweating what felt like moments later. 

I honestly was worried about coming in to work today.  My head feels like it is full of wet cotton balls.  It’s horrible.  My nose is running like a faucet.  I feel like a little kid because I have to keep wiping my nose.  Dad had to come get J today so I could lay down and take nap before work.  I felt better after the nap and puking up breakfast.  Fun.  I am still chilled and would probably sell an arm for a heated blanket at this point.  My co-worker said I looked like a cat that was just given a bath.  I’m not sure how I feel about that… but I take it that it means I look bad.  LOL! 

This is how I feel and apparently look.

This is how I feel and apparently look.

Hopefully this all goes away soon and I can get back to my regularly scheduled life. 

Anyone else sick?!  I hear this is going around so it makes me feel better that I am not the only one sick.  If you’re sick, I hope you feel better.  If you aren’t sick, I hope you don’t get this.  It is honestly the sickest I have been in a LONG time.

Leave a Reply

