Crochet Projects- January 2014

I feel like I wasn’t as productive this month as I was in December.  Perhaps it was the unbearable sickness that I have been dealing with for the past two weeks.  You can read about that here

This month I completed…

Camo Hat for Nick

Nick's Hat

Nick’s Hat

While I was in Kentucky crocheting my heart out my brother in-law, Nick, decided that he needed a hat like Cameron’s.  I started working on this and couldn’t get in to it.  So I started working on Emily’s ear-warmer.  Once I got back in the swing of things I was able to finish this one quickly. 

Camo ear-warmer for Emily

20140131-094447.jpg

I had the idea for this one when I was working on Nick’s hat.  It just seemed like a good idea.  I can’t tell you how many times I took it out though.  It was getting all wonky.  Yes.  That is a technical term.  LOL!  I like the final product and I hope Emily does too!

Baby hat for Carson

20140131-094458.jpg

I had a little camo yarn leftover and I just couldn’t resist.  I know it isn’t a traditional baby hat, but I’m not gonna lie I hope that they get a family picture in them! 

Ear-warmer for Amy

20140131-094539.jpg

During all the drama with the pipes (you can read about that here) Amy sent me this pin on Pinterest.  No message just the pin.  I took the hint and asked her is she was dropping a hint.  She just shrugged.  LOL!  No shame!  I whipped this bad boy up in an afternoon.  I don’t even think it took me an hour.  I had Amy pick out the buttons and the next day I was at work I finished it off.  I love it! 

Hat with HUGE flower for Jeana

20140131-094728.jpg

When I was making J’s green hat Jeana kept talking about how much she wanted one.  I kept her at bay for a while but finally broke down and just made her one.  It wouldn’t be complete without a GIANT flower.  Jeana loves it.  I think it’s a little over the top, but who am I to say. 

Ear-warmer for Lori

While I was crocheting away at work, Lori was admiring my handy work.  She was too shy to ask me to make something for her, so Jeana did.  LOL!  That girl cracks me up.  I made this ear-warmer during one night shift.  I am still waiting for Lori to bring me buttons so I can finish it… but I am considering it done until further notice. 

Skull hat for Russell

20140131-094519.jpg

So I found a pattern on the internet and figured I’d try it out.  I am not in love with this hat but it was made with love and I guess that’s all that matters.  It is HUGE!  I may have to rework this one to make it actually work to my taste.  I hope Russ can wear it at least once during the Polar Vortex.  LOL!

Hunger Games Cowl for me

20140131-094549.jpg

I found this pattern on Ravelry and decided that I needed to have it.  I picked the yarn out last month with the huge haul from Jo-Ann’s.  I started working on it just before I got sick while I was at training.  I apparently have such a large stitch that I had to take it out and cut the pattern basically in half!  Work stopped on it while I was sick.  You know you are sick when you don’t even feel like crocheting…

Cranberry Fingerless Glove

20140131-094609.jpg

This was my first attempt at the crocodile stitch.  I love it.  I found this pin on Pinterest and wanted to make them for J.  I then went on Ravelry and found a pattern that I could use to try out the crocodile stitch.  While I was making it all I could think was I should take these out so I can make a pair for Gigi (my Grandmother, whose birthday is at the end of February).  I kept going thinking I would make a cranberry pair for someone else. 

Teal Fingerless Glove

20140131-094601.jpg

This is the same pattern as above.  I knocked this bad boy out in about 2 days.  I love it.  But now that I have made two of the same gloves I don’t feel like making the matching pair.  I should have made the first glove in the teal to start with.  Lesson learned.  I wonder if I could get away with giving Gigi a miss matched pair….?

Striped hat for baby Carson

20140131-094756.jpg

Just when I thought I was finished for the month I banged out a little hat for baby Carson.  Emily had asked me to make a blue and white stripped hat with a pompom for him.  I had put it off for a while but finally just needed to complete something quick one night.  I used this pattern from Repeat Crafter Me changing the colors from red and white to blue and white.  I found a video on YouTube to show me how to make a pompom.  I can’t find the video now, of course… But if you google it I’m sure you’d be able to find something.    

Once I told Emily that I had completed the blue and white hat she asked if I could make a grey hat for Carson.  Apparently a lot of his outfits are grey as well.  LOL!  I have started it… I’m not sure I’ll finish it tonight, but I’m gonna give it a go while I’m watching Season 1 of Downton Abbey

I am quickly falling in love with this show.  Anyone else following it?  I hear they have season 4 on TV right now.  I can’t wait to get caught up.  I love binge watching TV series!  It’s awesome not having to watch commercials and wait for a week for the next episode. 

So what projects have you completed this month?  What TV shows are you watching?  Happy Crafting!

Leave a Reply

